Frontpage   Releases   Forum   Documents   Downloads   Links   Join Us!   Disclaimer   Contact Us


Author Topic: UPUpdate - autoupdater troubleshooting and bug reports only  (Read 31399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
UPUpdate - autoupdater troubleshooting and bug reports only
« on: April 08, 2010, 05:23:00 PM »
* TUTORIAL * How to Use Auto-updater for UltraPack

Please report bugs here, tutorial has explanation how to report bugs in proper way.

Offline Chalky

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Gender: Male
  • That's life for ya!
    • RAF662 CFSG
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2010, 06:12:19 PM »


Hi, No idea why I receive this message!  :unsure:


Game path: 
Log file: 
UP 2.01 selected
STEP 1/3 command: rsync.exe -avzh --stats --progress --port=443 --timeout=60 --partial --partial-dir=.temp --exclude-from=filter-up --log-file="logs/temp1"  "188.40.43.119::ultrapack///client/files201/"


2010/04/08 17:00:12 [3988] @ERROR: auth failed on module ultrapack
2010/04/08 17:00:12 [3988] rsync error: error starting client-server protocol (code 5) at main.c(1503) [receiver=3.0.6]
"A checkride ought to be like a skirt, short enough to be interesting but still be long enough to cover everything." ;)

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2010, 07:55:37 PM »
OK. I think you have Win7 or Vista. That OS-es prevent programs to make modifications inside "Program files" folder. 
1. move your game outside of Program files folder for example: "H:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946"  just cut/paste game folder,
2. delete desktop shortcust for switcher and updater
3. re-install 2.01 patch
4. UPUpdate will work from new location

Offline Gryphon

  • Expert
  • IL2 Addict
  • *****
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2010, 08:10:45 PM »
I have XP and get the same problem, even with the firewall off.

Offline Pappy

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2010, 08:19:19 PM »
Is it installed in the Program Files folder?
Are you running as an Admin level user?

Offline Gryphon

  • Expert
  • IL2 Addict
  • *****
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2010, 08:39:46 PM »
Yes to both.

I understand that moving everything out of 'Program Files' to somewhere else will work, but, thinking of the average user, we need to find a solution so it works in 'Program Files'. Average users aren't good at moving applications around their computer file structure and then fixing all the broken links and shortcuts (Hyperlobby, desktop, JSGME, etc).

I tried allowing Sharing for my game folder, with permission for Network users to alter my files, but that didn't work.

There are plenty of Remote Desktop apps out there used by Corporate IT admins which can alter stuff in Program Files; it would be worth figuring out how they get round this issue.

Offline Pappy

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2010, 08:59:27 PM »
The best way for the average user is to simply start from scratch and install the game into C:\Program\Ubisoft. They each patch there after install into the same folder.  Windows places significant restrictions on the "Program Files" and "Program Files (x86)" folders.

But if you find a universal work around I would love to know it.

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2010, 10:06:48 PM »
@Chalky, @Gryphon

Did you moved your installation outside of Program files, reinstalled UP 2.01 and tried UPUpdate again ? 

Regards,
Ante

Offline Chalky

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Gender: Male
  • That's life for ya!
    • RAF662 CFSG
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2010, 10:18:57 PM »
@Chalky, @Gryphon

Did you moved your installation outside of Program files, reinstalled UP 2.01 and tried UPUpdate again ? 

Regards,
Ante
No  :-\ but I did try " reinstalled UP 2.01 and tried UPUpdate again"
"A checkride ought to be like a skirt, short enough to be interesting but still be long enough to cover everything." ;)

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2010, 10:53:03 PM »
That won't help unless game folder is moved outside of "Program files" or you remove read only flag from that folder including subfolders and files. UPUpdate needs write permissions to game folder, nothing more, nothing less.

Whole UPUpdate process depends on that and if you don't or  won't  allow it to write there there is nothing more I can do.

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2010, 12:08:38 AM »
@Chalky, @Gryphon

Try UPUpdate again, I made change to it. Try it now and report results.

Please post screenshots here in case of errors.

Offline StG77_mk108

  • Beta-testers
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Gender: Male
    • Stukageschwader 77
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2010, 12:14:00 AM »
does the updater contains the Fix as we speak??

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2010, 12:18:56 AM »
Do you mean Netcode fix ? It does.

Offline StG77_mk108

  • Beta-testers
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Gender: Male
    • Stukageschwader 77
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2010, 12:21:14 AM »
rgr..thx!!!

Offline Gryphon

  • Expert
  • IL2 Addict
  • *****
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2010, 01:34:56 AM »
@Chalky, @Gryphon

Try UPUpdate again, I made change to it. Try it now and report results.

Please post screenshots here in case of errors.


It works! And my install is still in the default location ie \Program Files\Ubisoft\etc..

That's a major step forward - well done! I only have one comment:

Once the updater has completed its check, the window doesn't close. its says Press Any Key to Continue........ So I did. You then get three options, asking you to select a version 2.01, 2.0n, or Exit. I selected 2.01, as I thought this screen was asking me for the configuration I wanted. It then starting downloading the whole Ultrapack... 

It might be best to have the updater just run a check, update as required, then exit when the user has been notified that the check and update is complete. If the updater stays as is, I can see your website using tons of bandwidth when clients inadvertently download stuff they didn't need.

Offline CRO_Ante

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2010, 01:43:56 AM »
Excellent, It's good it works finally.

UPUpdate has latest HotFix patch now but I had no chance to test it. It should work.

About this part: "It might be best to have the updater just run a check, update as required, then exit when the user has been notified that the check and update is complete. If the updater stays as is, I can see your website using tons of bandwidth when clients inadvertently download stuff they didn't need. "

At the moment people are trying 2.01 and maybe they want go back to 2.0n until their favorite servers upgrade to 2.01.  In the future it will be only one option. There is no big difference between these two versions when you upgrade to 2.01.  Going back and forth is only 160MB or so.



Offline Gryphon

  • Expert
  • IL2 Addict
  • *****
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2010, 03:15:48 AM »
Yes but I already had 2.01, and when I selected 2.01, it started downloading .sfs files...

Offline smoothader

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2010, 04:44:04 AM »
S~

Thank you for this thread. Here is my problem:



I get this soon after I start install.

S~



Offline Pappy

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2010, 05:24:48 AM »
Did you download all three files into the same folder?
The install is in three parts, UPSetup201.exe, data2.cab and data3.cab

Offline Bravo

  • Beta-testers
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Gender: Male
  • Bigfoot
Re: UPUpdate - troubleshooting and bug reports only
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2010, 08:27:14 AM »
Damn I cant believe folks are having probs with this. Oh well maybe its just inevitable
Team Work allways Works!

 

Powered by EzPortal