Frontpage   Releases   Forum   Documents   Downloads   Links   Join Us!   Disclaimer   Contact Us


Author Topic: How to Add content to UP 3.0  (Read 5526 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Baco

  • Junior Member
  • **
How to Add content to UP 3.0
« on: May 26, 2011, 08:43:43 PM »
Hi guys, I have read teh readme, but I still cant figure it out. I am a bit slow latelly..
I have a Squad Pack that we sue to mount on UP 2.0 by adding it via the JGSM thingy.....
Now I try that with UPO 3.0 and I cant get it to work.
I copied my pack both in the JGSMmods folder and the new #UP# folder.
How do I get it to work? Its a few maps, and customized airplanes...
In UP 2.0 I just aded it to the JGSM mods folder and activated aliong with UP 2.0 and worked ok..
How do I get teh same result with UP 3.0?
and what option from the new pop up should I suse to get the JGSMactivated mods? NAd ifI use teh SAS mod act will I get all teh UP 3.0 content or do I need to add everithing manually?

Sorry, if its an ovious question but I woudl really apreciate a detailed (for a 4 years old) explanation...
Thnaks in advance people!

Offline Boomer

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 10:08:28 PM »
Hi there :)

The reason your old JSGME stuff wont work,
is because UP 3 does not use a MODS folder or Files folder any longer

You would need to bundle up your JSGME Mods to reflect the changes from a Mods and Files orientated game,
to a #UP# game

UP 3 is still new,
it would take experimentation that finds the solution

Or,add everything manually into UP 3 into the #UP# folder
Just like one did with the old Files and MODS folder set up

The IL2/#UP# or the #SAS# folders...
replace both the Files and the MODS folder

The same would be needed to run the SAS Modact game
either you follow the new folder structure for a #SAS# activated game to use the JSGME Utility
Or install all mods manually into the #SAS# folder like you would with the old MODS folder

Open and explore some of the folder structures associated in JSGME with the new #SAS# and new #UP# JSGME Mods,
to learn the new file and folder structure

 :cheers:

ps: here are the .ini files for UP 3.0
Including some small fixes in all.ini and static.ini

This will set up your #UP# folder to be ready to install maps and or planes ete

http://www.mediafire.com/?psp44dv25ti4iba

Offline Baco

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 10:14:03 PM »
Rgr Thanks for the quick reply mate,
I´ll experiment this weekend.
But I did pull the folders outside the MODs folder so basiclly everything is hanging from my "#UP#_GAE" folder in #UP# folder in Il-2 root directory, but I´ll keep at it and let you guys know about my findings...
Cheers!

Offline GAE_Chape

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2011, 04:58:09 AM »
@BOOMER

Thanks for the update folder # UP #.
 The folder that I download the torrent was outdated.
 With this I start the game perfectly.

 We have already managed to add more maps and I do not have problems in adding all the planes of our squadron.

 It is very likely to complicate us with ships. We'll see.

 Now I have a particular problem, I can not activate the 6DOF_LookArround.
 This mod conflicts with the ZUTI MDS.
 "I can force the loading of these files on the MDS ZUTI?

 Is it impossible?

Offline GAE_Chape

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2011, 05:26:45 AM »
In which .sfs is compressed ZUTI MDS?

 Does anyone know?

Offline Boelcke

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Axis & Allies paintworks
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2011, 11:42:07 AM »
One question for adding maps to UP 3:

I´ve found the all.ini file in the folder \IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\#UP#\STD\maps

in the former versions from UP it was \IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\Mods(now#UP#)\mapmods\maps

so, to add a new map, how is the file structure for it and where has the edited all.ini file to be located?


Offline spdr109

  • Member
  • ***
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2011, 12:53:33 PM »
When importing a map it must be placed in #UP#\STD\maps. Edit the all.ini file that you find here.

Don't forget to add a Tex folder to hold any textures you import with the new maps. To use the imported map,

the “#UP#_Enable_UP3.0” JSGME mod must be activated and the Executable Selector must

be set to “Ultrapack 3”.

I hope this was helpful.

Edit:

I deleted the explanation regarding switching to Classic Mod Game. Although it did work,
Boomers method as explained below is much preferable.
If it isn't fun...
                       You're doing it wrong!

Offline Boomer

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2011, 01:35:08 PM »
You add maps the same way as always,just like you did with a MODS folder!

#UP# is the "MODS" Folder

You can create a MapMods folder,
#UP#/MapMods/maps/place maps here
add all.ini info to>#UP#/maps

Or as Spdr mentioned place your maps in #UP#/maps

Adding anything is exactly the same as any other Mod activated game

Not sure why it takes so much switching to run unlocked ?
I use my Bld.config switcher to switch to unlocked FMB
I load my game and edit any map I want,then click save as usual
I then find the saved results in IL-2/maps
just like with any other Mod activated game

I then cut and paste the saved results from there into the actual map folder located in the #UP# folder wherever you placed it
wether in #UP#/maps or #UP#/MapMods/maps

Nothing has changed at all with Map Editor,I really do not know why so much switching or having to load the game"classic" needs to be done... I dont do any of that

Basically takes a couple minutes to install a map and experiment to see if it works
Same as adding a plane or whatever,couple minutes and see if it works
if it dont then remove it ,or figure it out

Nothing has changed,the #UP# folder is just your MODS folder,and thats it nothing fancy


Offline Boomer

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2011, 01:37:55 PM »
Only the regular 6Dof TrackIR works in UP3 right now,
it is installed by default and can be switched on in the IL-2 selector interface

Now I have a particular problem, I can not activate the 6DOF_LookArround.
 This mod conflicts with the ZUTI MDS.
 "I can force the loading of these files on the MDS ZUTI?
 Is it impossible?

Offline spdr109

  • Member
  • ***
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2011, 01:55:09 PM »
Quote
I use my Bld.config switcher to switch to unlocked FMB

That's why.

In addition, I like to keep the original map untouched while I am editing. The way I have it

set up allows me a "clean backup" along with my "WIP".
If it isn't fun...
                       You're doing it wrong!

Offline Boomer

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2011, 02:14:44 PM »
I keep a Master back up of a map I work on

Then,when I make changes on the "working map"
I do not just cut and paste and overwrite!

I take my new created actors.static and rename them
I rename any map_h or map_t files produced from editng

I do this with a simple + sign

actors+.static
map_t+.tga
map_h+.tga

Then I cut and paste my changes to my working map,
I then edit the load.ini by adding the + sign to what has been edited

Next save will get ++ and the next +++
Always keeping all files saved from overwriting anything!

The same when editing map_c,map_t or map_h in Gimp
I always just add+ signs to the new files name
then edit the load.ini to load the "new" texture that was edited

After a whole lot of editing,and I am satisfied with results
I decide on the files to keep and remove + sighns for a whole new clean set of files

Then I make a new Master file map for a back up and carry on

I never overwrite anything working on maps

In addition, I like to keep the original map untouched while I am editing. The way I have it
set up allows me a "clean backup" along with my "WIP".

Offline spdr109

  • Member
  • ***
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2011, 09:17:52 AM »
That seems to be a well thought-out system. I really like the way you keep

track of your changes with the plus signs. That way you can go back to

any stage of the developing work. Well done! Could you explain further the

Bld.config switcher. Your way of editing maps seems really smooth compared

to what I am doing now.
If it isn't fun...
                       You're doing it wrong!

Offline Boomer

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2011, 07:51:22 PM »
That seems to be a well thought-out system. I really like the way you keep
track of your changes with the plus signs. That way you can go back to
any stage of the developing work. Well done!

Not my system actually.I learned to do it this way by examining other map authors load.ini's
VKG_Vikings work for this system and it works for me well so I use it

All thanks to Viking
 :cheers:

Could you explain further the Bld.config switcher.
Your way of editing maps seems really smooth compared
to what I am doing now.


This is same Unlocked FMB Switcher I made before,
and is posted in Map Tools

All I did here is rename the outer folder from _00 to_#UP#
The switcher will work no matter what the outside folders name is.

Could be "SpdrsUnlockedFMB" whatever  ;D

Switch it to right side of JSGME and you will have unlocked the FMB for editing maps
Any map that is in your all.ini will be available to edit

I add maps at the top above the Flighttest map,that I have added to work on as in new maps added to UP 3.0 Base Core of maps
saving results of editing maps is exactly the same as before,click save
and as long as you have a IL-2/Maps folder
and inside it the same identically named folder as the map you are working on, your changes will be saved there.

Making changes are the same as always,overwrite the files in the actual map folder,
or rename and edit load.ini like I described above
or create a map folder for a map already contained in UP 3.0 and add changes there to overide SFS Files

 :drinks:

Unlocked FMB Switch>
http://www.mediafire.com/?81hjn2ng3pb90q8

Offline spdr109

  • Member
  • ***
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2011, 11:18:01 PM »
Thanks Boomer.     

I have it all straight now. Editor is working as you describe.

The Executable Selector is what had me confused.


 :animal0017:
If it isn't fun...
                       You're doing it wrong!

Offline Boomer

  • Global Moderator
  • IL2 Addict
  • ******
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2011, 11:40:29 PM »
 :drinks:

Offline Hueyman

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #15 on: April 24, 2012, 06:33:25 PM »
Hello,

first, as It's my first post on this forum, I wish to introduce me !!

My name is Valentin, I'm 17 YO, french, and I play Pacific Fighter ( now IL2 1946 ) since the beginning.

 I read the thread on how to add Fly Zo's map to UP3, to use Hell's Angels B-17 bombing campaing, but I didn't find any MODS folder or even #UP3# in IL2 Root folder.

Please help me,

Good flights !

Offline Hueyman

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #16 on: April 29, 2012, 04:25:40 PM »
ANYONE ?  :whistle:

Offline HGuderian

  • Member
  • ***
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2012, 01:37:45 AM »
Hi!

 :blush2: Do you've read the previous page? You'll find the answer!  :yahoo:

Cheers

Offline Hueyman

  • Junior Member
  • **
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2012, 05:00:46 PM »
But dude, I haven't #UP3# NOR MODS folder, and the mediafire link is broken, what should I do ?

Offline JG54_Emil

  • IL2 Addict
  • *****
    • JG54 "Grünherz"
Re: How to Add content to UP 3.0
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2012, 05:29:04 PM »
Now that you know that you need a #UP3# forlder, why don´t you make one?
JG54 is recruiting!
Check our Website:
www.IIJG54Gruenherz.org
www.Gruenherzjaeger.de

 

Powered by EzPortal